المركز الدولي لخدمة المرضى الخصوصيين

Goshمستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت هو مركز دولي للتميز وهو معترف به باعتباره واحد من بين عدد قليل من المستشفيات ذات المستوى العالمي للأطفال. فالمستشفي رائد في مجال طب الأطفال منذ أن أدخل أول مرضاه لأول مرة عام 1852 واستمر ليصبح الرائد عالمياً في علاج المرضى من الأطفال، مع قيامه بالعديد من البدايات العالمية والعديد من التطورات الطبية الرائدة التي أعطت أمل جديد للأطفال والأسر من مختلف أنحاء العالم.

يعد مستشفي جريت أورموند ستريت في المملكة المتحدة  الذي هو تحت رعاية صاحبة الجلالة الملكة إليزابيث الثانية|,رائدا في مجال الأبحاث في البلاد ويمتلك مجموعة واسعة ومتنوعة من أخصائيي الأطفال تحت سقف واحد.

UCL Institute of Child Health‎(ICH)‎ بالإشتراك مع  مؤسسة صحة الأطفال فنحن نحتل مرتبة من بين أول خمس مؤسسات لأبحاث الأطفال في العالم ونلعب دوراً رئيسياً في تدريب المختصين بصحة الأطفال في المستقبل.

أعلى "المعايير":

• هو مجموعة مكونة من جميع مستشفيات الأطفال الرائدة في العالم(CHIEF)إن المنتدي التنفيذي العالمي لمستشفيات الأطفال    

 فلقد قيمونا على أننا واحد من أربعة مستشفيات رائدة في أبحاث طب الأطفال في العالم.

• على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية جاء مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت جنباً إلى جنب مع ICH من ضمن المراكز الخمسة الأولى في العالم للأبحاث المنشورة.

أن نكون المستشفى الرائد في العالم يعني أن نمتلك فريقاً عالمياً متميزاً، ولدى مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت بعض من كبار الخبراء في الطب والأبحاث يعملون من أجل إيجاد أفضل سبل لعلاج الأطفال في وحدات الرعاية لدينا.

في الواقع، يتوفر لدينا أكثر من 50 من التخصصات الطبية المختلفة التي هي أوسع مجموعة من التخصصات موجودة عن أي مستشفى آخر في المملكة المتحدة، والتي تمكننا وبشكل فريد من التشخيص والريادة في علاج الأطفال الذين يعانون من مشاكل معقدة للغاية ومشاكل نادرة والحالات المضاعفة كما يزوروننا كل عام ما يزيد على 240,000 مريض و نستقبل الأطفال من سن حديثي الولادة إلى 18 سنة والكثيرين منهم يعانون من حالات تهدد أو تحد من طبيعة الحياة.

ونحن في مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت الدولي وخدمات المرضى الخاصة، قد قمنا بعلاج الأطفال من 90 بلداً مختلفاً، مع أكثر من 16,000 مريضاً من جميع أنحاء العالم (مع أكثر من 9,000 من المرضى الزائرين يأتون من منطقة الشرق الأوسط)، يزورون المستشفى للعلاج فقط في عامي 2013/2014. 

نورد هنا بعض العوامل التي تجعل من مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت الرائدة في العالم:

• هو أكبر مركز للأطفال المصابين بأمراض القلب في المملكة المتحدة وواحدة من أكبر مراكز زرع القلب للأطفال في العالم.

• هو أكبر مركز للأطفال الذين يحتاجون لعملية جراحية في الدماغ في المملكة المتحدة - على سبيل المثال، لدينا أكبر مركز لجراحة الصرع في أوروبا.

• مع مستشفى كلية لندن الجامعية (UCLH)، تعتتبر ثالث أكبر مركز للأطفال المصابين بالسرطان/اللوكيميا في العالم الغربي والأكبر في أوروبا.

• لديه أكبر مجموعة من أخصائيي الأطفال يعملون في مؤسسة واحدة في المملكة المتحدة.

• هو المركز الوحيد في الدولة المتخصص في بحوث الطب الحيوي لطب الأطفال .

• هو المركز الرائد في العالم لاستخدام العلاج الجيني في الأطفال.

• هو المركز الرائد في أوروبا لإدارة التوائم الملتصقة (ما يسمى "التوائم السيامية").

• كما قام المستشفى بتدريب العديد من جراحي القلب للأطفال اللذين يزاولون أعمالهم حالياً في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

تقوم الفرق الطبية لدينا في علاج الحالات المرضية الأكثر تعقيداً بما فيها زراعة الكلى، سرطان الطفولة، التوائم الملتصقة، جراحة الصرع، أورام الدماغ، الأمراض المعدية، تشقق الشفاه والحنك واضطرابات نقص المناعة .

يحتاج معظم المرضى لدينا مساعدة الخبراء من فريقين من الأخصائيين على الأقل مع الكثير من المرضى الذين يحتاجون الخبراء من خمس فرق تخصصية أو أكثر. لذلك، فإن الأطباء والممرضات لدينا مؤهلون ومدربون بشكل فريد لعلاج الحالات غير العادية والاضطرابات الشديدة التي تتطلب في بعض الأحيان علاج رائد غير متاح في المستشفيات الأخري، مثل زراعة النخاع العظمي وعلاج الجينات.

هذه بعض الإنجازات التي حققها المستشفى في مجال الأبحاث:

• تقنيات جديدة لجراحة القلب المفتوح وزراعة النخاع العظمي

• أدوية علاجية جديدة لعلاج الصرع والتهاب المفاصل الأحداثي وفيروس الإيدز

• تطورات جديدة في الجراحة بواسطة المنظار للأطفال

• تقنيات متطورة لدعم الحياة للأطفال في وحدة العناية المركزة

وقد تم إحراز بعض التطورات في مجالات أخرى مثل التحكم في الألم وكذلك في أهمية العلاج باللعب لتجهيز الطفل للإجراءات والجراحة - على سبيل المثال، من خلال استخدام علاج التلهية لإجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي (MRI) بدلاً من التخدير.

إشراك المريض وأسرته

إن الإكتشافات والخبرات الطبية ضرورية لعلاج مرضانا، ولكن علينا أيضا إلى جانب ذلك التركيز بشكل كبير على الدعم الذي نقدمه في محيط الأطفال القائمين تحت رعايتنا. ولذا فإن هدفنا هو توفير جو منفتح وداعم، لضمان أن يكون الوالدين والمرضى علي دراية تامة ومشتركين في جميع مراحل عملية العلاج.

لهذا السبب، فنحن نقوم بمساندة الوالدين في المشاركة بالعناية بطفلهم وكذلك تشجيع الأطفال الأكبرسنا بالمشاركة في جوانب معينة من الرعاية الخاصة بهم. نحن ننظر إلى أبعد من حالة الطفل الطبية ونسعى لتلبية جميع احتياجاتها/احتياجاته، إضافة إلى أعضاء الأسرة الآخرين، ومحاولة التقيّد بروتين حياتهم وتلبية احتياجاتهم الثقافية والنفسية والاجتماعية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإننا ننظر إلى الوالدين على أنهم ضيوفنا ونعتبر راحتهم وخصوصيتهم وراحة بالهم الأهم بالنسبة لنا. ونحن نود أن تكون إقامتهم معنا مريحة وممتعة بقدر الإمكان لأنهم أعضاء هامون في فريق الرعاية الصحية لأطفالهم وأن سلامة أطفالهم لها الأولوية القصوى في جميع الأوقات.

لذلك، فبالنسبة للوالدين، خلال إقامتكم معنا، فستتلقون أنتم وأطفالكم أعلى معايير الرعاية والعناية من فريق الخبراء لدينا من الكوادر الطبية والدعم. وسنجعل هدفنا هو معاملتك بكل احترام وثقة وعناية وانفتاح. إضافة إلى ذلك سيوفر موظفونا دائماً الوقت الكافي للاستماع لكم ومساعدتكم.

موقع المستشفى

يقع المستشفى في وسط لندن، على مقربة من وست إند ويمكن الوصول إليه بواسطة وسائل النقل العامة. يوجد مقر مستشفى جريت أورموند ستريت الدولي و خدمات المرضى الخاصة في مركز هاريس الدولي للمرضى "Harris International Patient Centre". إنها وحدة متطورةعلي أحدث طراز حيث نقوم بالعناية بالأطفال من الخارج الذين يحتاجون إلى العلاجات المتخصصة والغير موجودة في بلدانهم، وكذلك بالنسبة للمرضى الخاصين من المملكة المتحدة ومن جميع أنحاء العالم.

International and Private Patients Service

GOSH Great Ormond Street Hospital is an international centre of excellence and is recognised as one of the few truly world-class hospitals for children.

Great Ormond Street Hospital has been a pioneer in paediatrics ever since it admitted its first patients in 1852 and continues to be a global leader in the treatment of sick children. The hospital's many world-firsts and groundbreaking medical developments give new hope to children and families around the world.

In the United Kingdom (UK), under the patronage of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Great Ormond Street Hospital is the leading research hospital for children and has the widest range of children's specialists under one roof.

In partnership with the UCL Institute of Child Health (ICH), we are in the top five research institutions for children in the world and play a key role in training children's health specialists for the future.

Top benchmarks

  • The Children's Hospitals International Executive Forum (CHIEF) is a group of all the world's leading children's hospitals. They rate us as one of the four leading paediatric research hospitals in the world.
  • For the last three years, Great Ormond Street Hospital, together with the ICH, has been in the top five centres in the world for research published.

Being a world leader means having a world-leading team, and at Great Ormond Street Hospital, some of the top clinical and research experts are working to find new and better ways to treat the children in our care.

In fact, we have more than 50 different clinical specialties, the widest range of any hospital in the UK. This uniquely enables us to diagnose and pioneer treatments for children with highly complex, rare or multiple conditions. We have more than 240,000 patient visits each year and see children ranging in age from newborn babies to 18-year-olds, many of whom have life-limiting or life-threatening conditions.

In the International and Private Patients Service, we treated children from over 90 different countries in 2013/14. More than 17,000 patients (including over 9,000 from the Middle East region) visited the international  divsion for treatment in the same period.

Here are just a few of the reasons that make Great Ormond Street Hospital a world leader:

  • It is the largest centre for children with heart problems in the UK and one of the largest centres for children's heart transplants in the world.
  • It is the largest centre for children needing brain surgery in the UK - for example, the largest epilepsy surgery centre in Europe.
  • With the University College London Hospital (UCLH), it is the third largest centre for children with cancer/leukaemia in the western world and the largest in Europe.
  • It has the largest range of children's specialties in one institution in the UK.
  • It is the country's only specialist biomedical research centre for paediatrics.
  • It is the leading centre in the world for gene therapy in children.
  • It is the leading centre in Europe for the management of conjoined twins (so-called, 'Siamese twins').
  • It has trained many of the children's cardiac surgeons currently practising in the United States.

Our teams tackle the most complex conditions, including kidney transplants, childhood cancers, conjoined twins, epilepsy surgery, brain tumours, infectious diseases, cleft lip and palate and immunodeficiency disorders.

Most of our patients require expert help from at least two specialist teams; many patients need help from five specialist teams or more. Our doctors and nurses are uniquely qualified and trained to treat unusual and severe disorders that sometimes require pioneering treatment not available in other hospitals, for example bone marrow transplants and gene therapy.

Here are a few of the hospital's recent research achievements:

  • New techniques for open heart surgery and bone marrow transplants.
  • New drug therapies to treat epilepsy, juvenile arthritis and HIV-AIDS.
  • New developments in keyhole surgery for children.
  • Improved life support techniques for children in intensive care.

Other advances have been made in areas such as pain management and also in the importance of play therapy to prepare a child for procedures and surgery, for example by using distraction therapy for magnetic resonance imaging scans (MRI) instead of anaesthetic.

Involving the patient and family

Breakthroughs and medical expertise are essential to the treatment of our patients, but we also place a great emphasis on the support we provide around the children in our care. Our aim is to provide an open and supportive atmosphere, ensuring that both parents and patients are informed and involved throughout the treatment process.

For this reason, we support parents taking part in their child's care and also encourage older children to participate in certain aspects of their own care. We look beyond a child's medical condition and seek to care for all his or her needs, as well as those of their family. We try to adhere to their routine and meet their cultural, psychological and social needs.

In addition, we see parents as our guests. Their comfort, privacy and peace of mind are important to us. We want to make their stay with us as comfortable and pleasant as we possibly can. They are valued members of their child's healthcare team and their child's safety is our utmost priority at all times.

During your stay with us, you and your child will receive the highest standards of care and attention from our expert team of medical and support staff. We will aim to treat you with respect, trust, concern and openness. In addition, our staff will always make  time to listen and help you.

Where we are

The hospital is located in central London, close to the West End and easily reached by public transport.

Great Ormond Street Hospital International and Private Patients Service is based in the Harris International Patient Centre. This is a state-of-the-art unit where we care for children from overseas requiring specialist treatments unavailable in their own countries, and for private patients from the UK and around the world.